
I often think the only real point of Bonkers these days is its reporting of
Council meetings as otherwise few of us would know what is going on. You have to
be some sort of nut to listen to a three hour meeting. Too much waffle and
squabble. But time has become my huge enemy. I am currently two long meetings
behind the times but with plans to catch up by next Wednesday. By then I will
again be two meetings behind! Why are
Council meetings like 229 buses?
With little free time available today it is my turn to waffle with something
which may not offend the litigious and the copyright fiends sent to hound us
Pot holes and things
Whilst the situation in Bexley is far from being good, I still maintain that
neighbouring boroughs are worse. The massive hole left after
a mini-roundabout collapsed just South of Chislehurst station
(Bromley) was patched three weeks ago; not
with a replacement roundabout, that has completely gone, but by a not very flat asphalt
fill in. Unfortunately that has collapsed too.
The northern end of Brampton Road which
Greenwich Council closed for 28 days
last November was in a state of partial collapse by January. Last week it was
closed Monday to Friday for remedial repairs; but late last night it was still
shut. The Knee Hill lights were letting only three vehicles pass in a West to
East direction before going red again with long queues as a result.
Unfortunately Bexley Council’s claimed achievements are too often, “well we
are not as bad as the others”. Actually it is very often true but is that really good enough?
Thames Water
I must be careful with this one as I do not particularly want them chasing
me for even more money. Last year they raised my bill to being within a couple of
pence of 50% higher. They absolutely refused to discuss their failure to provide me
with a street stop-cock and consequently a meter and sent a very rude letter to
that effect. They would not say how they justified charging a single occupier according to the number of bedrooms as if
there was any water consumption link, or why there
would be no reduced charge if I took a month’s holiday and used no water.
I retaliated by wasting as much water as I could and paying late.
This year my bill was less than last which struck me as odd. The 2025/26
tariffs are no longer on Thames Water’s website even though they are still
current, so on 1st March I asked them to
send me a copy. On the 19th they did so but it bears no relation whatsoever to
the bill they sent last year. The war goes on.
Idiot Police
A friend was driving along Lower Road, Belvedere when a police car went by in
the opposite direction. It made a screeching U-turn (probably went round the Asda roundabout) and put on blue lights and siren. Then the friend realised it was chasing her so she pulled over wondering what
she could possible have done wrong.
She soon found out.
She
was accused of driving unaccompanied with an L plate back and front. Since when was that an
offence? I have held an unblemished licence for 63 years and could legitimately
display a P sign; and maybe I should given the standard of driving around Abbey Wood.
Just before 8 p.m. yesterday I pulled into a space on
New Road to allow a bus to ascend the hill unimpeded. I was passed by a
madman apparently intent on hitting the bus head on. Fortunately for those on board the bus, the
car driver averted a collision by mounting the pavement without so much as slowing down.
Anyway, back to the idiot police; and things get worse. The driver is an
instructor who was on her way to pick up a Learner client. Have the police in Bexley really
got nothing better to do than watch out for L plates?