Banner
underlay

plinth
anchor a m today rss facebook twitter clear clear

Complaint following councillor Cheryl Bacon
holding a Public Meeting in Closed Session

Following Labour councillors’ comments at the following Public Realm meeting

Dear Mr. Alabi,

With reference to my complaint against Councillor Cheryl Bacon for unlawfully taking a public meeting into closed session on 19th June 2013.

I was present at the Public Realm, Community Safety, Economic and Regeneration Overview and Scrutiny Committee Meeting on Tuesday 22nd October 2013.

When the chairperson, Councillor Cheryl Bacon, asked if everyone agreed to the minutes of the meeting of 19th June 2013, Councillor Seán Newman queried as to why only a scant reference had been made in the minutes, relating to the disruption in the public gallery when she, as chairman, announced that audio recording was not allowed.

Councillor Bacon refused to answer the question, asking Councillor Newman instead, if he wished to make an amendment.

Councillor Newman said he couldn't do that as he had not been at the previous meeting.

Councillor Borella, who was at the meeting last night as an onlooker, also queried the minutes, stating that he had been present at the meeting on 19th June 2013, when she, as chairman, had taken the meeting into closed session, without taking a vote from the members and that she had excluded all the public from the resumed meeting in another room.

This is a very serious allegation by one Bexley Councillor against another councillor and doesn't reflect the statement that Councillor Borella is alleged to have made to Lynn Tyler, the officer who investigated my original complaint against Councillor Bacon and subsequently cleared her of any wrongdoing.

I am therefore requesting that Councillor Borella be interviewed as part of the review of my complaint against Councillor Bacon and a true reflection of his recollection of the incident on 19th June 2013 be recorded.

You should be aware that four members of the public have made complaints against councillor Bacon, relating to her her conduct at the meeting on 19th June 2013.

Lynn Tyler also allegedly interviewed Councillor Borella and the Clerk of the meeting on 19th June 2013, You should also be aware that the doorman who called the police on 19th June 2013, when spoken to by me in the presence of another witness, was unaware that he had made a statement to Lynn Tyler and when shown a copy of a summary of what he had allegedly said to her, refused to confirm whether it was a true recollection of his comments to her.

None of the six individuals support Councillor Bacon's allegation that a number of members of the public were causing a disturbance in the public gallery and that is why she moved the meeting, rather than the truth, which was that only one member of the public had been responsible for any disruption.

I think I have already placed it on public record that if my complaint is not investigated on the basis of the evidence you have before you, rather than the investigation carried out by Lynn Tyler, the original investigating officer, I will have no hesitation in making an allegation to the Specialist and Economic Crime Unit at New Scotland Yard of Misconduct in Public Office and Perverting the Course of Justice, against all those individuals involved in the investigation and Councillor Bacon for her conduct.

Please acknowledge receipt of this email.

Yours sincerely,

Michael Barnbrook



23rd October 2013

Home page Site mapMenu mapContact us
Join Bonkers on TwitterCookie policyReturn to the top of this page